“Rid of My Disgrace” Book Giveaway

There is a first time for everything.

Over the next few days I will give away a copy of Justin & Lindsey Holcomb’s new book Rid of My Disgrace, which was written “for the many victims of sexual assault, both female and male, to offer accessible, gospel-based help, hope, and healing.”  (p. 13)

My hope is that the person who receives this book is either a pastor, Christian leader, counselor, victim of sexual assault, or a person close to a victim.

The last paragraph of Justin and Lindsey’s introduction unpack the content of the book:

In Rid of My Disgrace, we address the effects of sexual assault with the biblical message of grace and redemption. Jesus responds to your pain and past. Your story does not end with assault. Your life was intended for more than shame, guilt, despair, pain, and denial. The assault does not define you or have the last word on your identity. Yes, it is part of your story, but not the end of your story.

The message of the gospel redeems what has been destroyed and applies grace to disgrace.  (p. 14)

To receive this book, just comment on this particular post by putting your name and email address in the comment. I’ll draw names Friday and ask the winner privately via email for their shipping address.

11 thoughts on ““Rid of My Disgrace” Book Giveaway

    • Brianne and I know a girl who is struggling in the aftermath of date rape at school. She’s Catholic, but not a serious church go-er, and we’re trying to get her into Christian community and counseling for the very purpose of the cleansing of the gospel. Right now her behavior is slipping towards destructive habits (that we believe she didn’t do before the incident). So this comes as way of a prayer request as well as a hey-we-were-going-to-get-this-anyway-but-why-not-try-our-luck-in-BJs-raffle.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention “Rid of My Disgrace” Book Giveaway « 5:21 -- Topsy.com

  2. I think that this is a book that is very much needed in today world. I myself don’t know of anyone close to me that has had this happen to. But I do know friends of friends that it has happen to and I do know that is leaves a big scar on your life and without Christ it a much bigger scar. Thanks Justin & Lindsey for your continue commitment.

    In Christ
    Kathy

    • I know the book has been given away…still want to add my thoughts. I am buying this book asap. I finally spoke after 30 years of silence. I havent been able to find any resources to help..I read Dan Allendar’s book “the wounded heart” but it was too humanistic in how it counseled (imo) I read the first chapter of “rid of my disgrace” online and it hit me hard….i’m still healing and hope some day to help others. I am going to drink deeply from this book and pray that it soothes the soul. God is bigger than my abuse. 🙂

  3. I TOO AM LATE FOR THE GIVE AWAY, BUT I’VE HEARD IT’S AN EXCELLENT BOOK!! I STILL PLAN ON GETTING IT AND READING IT. I’M GLAD THERE IS A BOOK OUT THERE ON THIS SUBJECT.IM ANXIOUS TO READ IT.
    THANKS,
    LUCY

Leave a Reply

