Quit Asking for Forgiveness

This is a guest post by Dane Ortlund who is the Senior Editor in Bible Division at Crossway. You can follow him on Twitter here.

One way I reinforce my inveterate functional Pharisaism is by allowing remembrance of a past sin to bring me back into despondency and a renewed plea for forgiveness every time it comes to mind.
The trouble is that this is not belief but unbelief. Not faith, but self-reliance. Normally I’ve asked the Lord to forgive me in the wake of the sin, yet when it comes to mind again I find myself crumpling internally into yet another anguished prayer for forgiveness. It’s the emotional equivalent of self-flagellation—scourging my own back with a whip.

Place it under the blood. Once. Then quit asking for forgiveness.

The enemy loves it. He sees I’m not allowing a decisive placing of that sin under the blood of Christ settle the issue once and for all. Somehow I let myself feel that the more often I ask for forgiveness, and the greater the anguish, the more effectual the blood of Christ on my behalf.

Which is itself works-righteousness. It’s a denial that the blood of Christ is enough. It’s thinking: I need to help out Christ’s work by a super intense, repeated, pleading for that blood. The very gospel application is a gospel denial. My mind pleads grace while my heart self-atones.

Place it under the blood. Once. Then quit asking for forgiveness.

He bore the whip.
“. . . and the LORD has laid on him the iniquity of us all.” –Isaiah 53:6

One thought on “Quit Asking for Forgiveness

  1. Pingback: 200-Proof Grace | 5:21

Leave a Reply

